Rob Sanders

Rob Sanders

The Rundown with Rob on Fox Sports Radio 1400. Rob grew up in South Carolina. He now gets to talk about the teams in the palmetto state.Full Bio


Gamecocks picked to finish 10th in the SEC

Not a lot of love for the South Carolina basketball team as they are picked to finish 10th in the conference.

Here is the full rundown from the SEC.

Birmingham, Ala. - Kentucky was predicted to win the 2020 Southeastern Conference men's basketball championship in voting by a select panel of both SEC and national media members.

The Wildcats are the overall preseason favorite for the ninth consecutive season and the 15th time since the 1998-99 season.

Florida's Kerry Blackshear was the choice of the media for SEC Men's Basketball Player of the Year. Florida's Andrew Nembhard, Georgia's Anthony Edwards, Kentucky's Ashton Hagans & Tyrese Maxey, LSU's Skylar Mays, Ole Miss' Breein Tyree, Mississippi State's Reggie Perry and Tennessee's Lamonté Turner also received votes in the Player of the Year voting.

Blackshear, Edwards, Hagans, Tyree and Perry were each All-SEC First Team selections. Nembhard, Maxey, Mays and Turner were second team picks along with Alabama's Kira Lewis Jr., Arkansas' Isaiah Joe and Kentucky's EJ Montgomery.

Points were compiled on a 14-13-12-11-10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 basis. Each media member also voted for a five-player All-SEC Team. Ties were not broken.

The 2019-20 campaign begins November 5, with conference play set to begin January 4. The 2020 SEC Tournament will be March 11-15 at Bridgestone Arena in Nashville, Tenn.

First Team All-SEC

Kerry Blackshear - Florida

Anthony Edwards - Georgia

Ashton Hagans - Kentucky

Breein Tyree - Ole Miss

Reggie Perry - Mississippi State

Second Team All-SEC

Kira Lewis Jr. - Alabama

Isaiah Joe - Arkansas

Andrew Nembhard - Florida

Tyrese Maxey - Kentucky

EJ Montgomery - Kentucky

Skylar Mays - LSU

Lamonté Turner - Tennessee

SEC Player of the Year

Kerry Blackshear - Florida

Predicted Order Of Finish

1. Kentucky

2. Florida

3. LSU

4. Auburn

5. Tennessee

6. Alabama

7. Mississippi State

8. Ole Miss

9. Georgia

10. South Carolina

11. Arkansas

12. Texas A&M

13. Missouri

14. Vanderbilt

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content